Soybean highlights from National Center for Soybean Biotechnology

James Birchler James Birchler
Professor James Birchler Elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Dr. James Birchler, Curators Professor of Genetics, at the University of Missouri (MU) was elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. Jim is internationally known for his pioneering research in maize genetics, molecular cytogenetics, and mini-chromosome engineering technology. He contributes to soybean genetics research at MU through a collaborative project with Prof. Gary Stacey, Associate Director of the National Center for Soybean Biotechnology, applying FISH technology to karyotype analysis of the soybean genome.

"I will discover new things and have fun making new discoveries in the field of science" says Birchler.

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) was established by an Act of Congress in 1863. The NAS is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research.

7th Symposium
7th Annual Soybean Biotechnology Symposium

On behalf of NCSB, we would like to say "Thank you" to everyone who participated in this year's event. The symposium on Wednesday, April 6, 2011 at the Christopher S. Bond Life Sciences Center at the University of Missouri was a huge success! We had approximately 100 people who registered and 33 posters were presented during the poster session.

We would like to express our gratitude to Drs. Walt Fehr, Anne Dorrance, and Gregory May for their time of being our guest speakers; to Dr. Brian Foster and Dale Ludwig, for being speakers at the Opening Remarks session; and to everyone who presented a poster.

Douglas AllenDouglas Allen
Newest NCSB Members

Drs. Douglas Allen and Ivan Baxter -- Both are Research Computational Biologist from the USDA-ARS at the Danforth Plant Sciences Center in St. Louis, MO.

Ivan BaxterIvan Baxter

Dr. Allen's research interests include the analysis of metabolic networks in plants by combined experimental and computational methods. These investigations give insight to plant metabolism, important for designing crops to meet future nutritional and chemical feedstock needs.

Dr. Baxter's interest includes the understanding how plants regulate the mobilization, uptake, translocation, and storage of elements in different environments. We are focusing our efforts on the seeds of corn and soybeans. The seeds are important not only as the component of the plant that gets used for food, but also as a summary tissue of many physiological processes that are important for plant growth. We also study model systems to understand basic processes and apply this knowledge to the crop plants.

David SleperDavid Sleper
David Sleper was presented a plaque for service and leadership

Former Associate Director of the Soybean Center and Professor from the Division of Plant Sciences at the University of Missouri was presented with a plaque at the Annual Soybean Symposium on April 6, 2011 for his outstanding service and leadership in plant breeding research and education. Sleper retired in October 2010 as an Emeritus Professor at MU.

Grover ShannonGrover Shannon
Grover Shannon becomes new Associate Director at soybean center

Dr. Shannon has accepted the new role as Associate Director of the Soybean Center. Shannon is the David M. Haggard Endowed Chair Professor in soybean breeding at the University of Missouri – Delta Research Center in Portageville, MO.

The Endowed Chair is supported by the Missouri Soybean Merchandising Council. Dr. Shannon's research focuses on breeding for resistance to soybean cyst nematode, and other biotic as well as abiotic stresses. Breeding for improved protein and oil for enhanced nutritional value for farm animals and humans is also a goal of his program.